2019 Scholarship Winners

Newsletter Signup

Become a Member

Become A Member

San Francisco Bay Area AEP Student Scholarship Winners

The SFAEP Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce the selection of the 2018-2019 academic year scholarship winners, Courtney McGuire and Laura Dev. Each winner will receive a $1,000 scholarship from SFAEP along with a complimentary one-year student membership to AEP.

Courtney McGuire

Courtney is an undergraduate student at UC Berkeley, working toward a Bachelor's degree in Integrative Biology. She found her passion for the natural environment hiking with family.

In addition to attending Cal full-time, Courtney supports the Student Environmental Resource Center (SERC) as a Vermicomposting Associate, working to bring vermicomposting to campus. Courtney will also be serving as the UC Berkeley AEP Chapter representative in 2018. Ms. McGuire plans to pursue a career in ecology to help find solution for mitigating climate change.

Laura Dev

Laura is working towards a Ph.D. in Environmental Science, Policy and Management at UC Berkeley and has a Master‘s degree in Ecology from Colorado State University.

Laura was inspired to work focus on environmental work after spending a semester abroad in Hong Kong. She is currently working on research in the Peruvian Amazon that investigates the potential for medicinal plant management to provide alternative economic strategies for indigenous communities that previously relied on logging. In her future career, she would like to work on research that links global and local environmental issues and empowers indigenous groups and underprivileged communities.

The SFAEP scholarship program supports students who are planning to engage in a career in the environmental field. It is available annually to full-time students with a GPA of at least 3.0 who will be attending an accredited college or university within the counties served by the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter (For 2018-19 academic year: San Francisco, San Mateo, Alameda, Contra Costa, Solano, Napa, Sonoma, Marin, Lake Mendocino, Trinity, Humboldt, and Del Norte). It is funded through member and corporate donations, club fundraisers, and other sources.

Updated July 26, 2018